This content is also available in: fr

Sci-GaIA brings together a highly experienced team of beneficiaries that already worked extensively in many projects to promote the development and uptake of Infrastructures and their services in Africa. 

Brunel University London (UK) – Project Coordinator

The Department of Computer Science is part of Brunel University, a Higher Education and research establishment with considerable intellectual, financial and social resources and makes a major contribution to the economy and community of the West London region. It also plays a significant role in the higher education scene nationally and has numerous national and international links and partnerships with both academia and industry.

Sigma Orionis (France) – until the 28th of April 2016

Sigma Orionis, founded in 1984 and established in the Sophia Antipolis science park in France, specializes in services supporting collaborative research and global innovation in ICT. The company benefits from a 15-year experience of participation in EU-funded projects, and has been or still is a coordinator or partner of over 40 projects (IPs, STREPs, NoEs, CSAs) launched in the ICT theme of the European 7th Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development and of the Horizon 2020 Programme.

UbuntuNet Alliance for Research and Education Networking

(The Regional Research & Education Network for Eastern & Southern Africa) (Malawi)

UbuntuNet Alliance was founded in 2005 by established and emerging NRENs in Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda and South Africa. UbuntuNet connects African NRENs to each other, to other regional RENs worldwide, and to the Internet generally. UbuntuNet is currently working to implement AfricaConnect, which will roll out the regional academic network interconnecting the networks of the member NRENs. The Alliance also closely works with the REN Unit of the Association of African Universities (AAU) and has contacts within the higher education and research community within much of sub-Saharan Africa.

Dar es Salaam Institute of Science and Technology (DIT) (Tanzania)

DIT was established in 1997 and it offers a wide range of full-time, part-time and professional engineering qualifications and courses. Through a national Center of Excellence in ICT (CeoICT), DIT is hosting national facilities related to telemedicine, e-learning and high performance computing in the country. DIT is part of the consortium who implemented the ICT for rural development, a facility supporting secondary schools, teacher training college, health care centres and hospitals, local government and the private sector in two remote regions in Tanzania.

Karolinska Institutet (Sweden)

Karolinska Institutet, founded in 1810, is Sweden’s only university especially focusing on biomedical sciences. KI ranks as one of the world’s leading medical universities, thanks partially to the quality of its research activities, which today account for 40 per cent of all medical research in Sweden. Research at KI has a strong European dimension, as KI is a major player in FP7, and H2020 Programmes.

University of Catania (Italy)

The University of Catania, founded in 1434, is the oldest and main university in Sicily and one of the biggest in the South of Italy. UNICT is involved in the Sci-GaIA project through the Department of Physics and Astronomy (DPA). The main fields of research carried out at the DPA are: Nuclear and Particle Physics, Solid State Physics, Theoretical Physics, Astro-particle Physics, Astrophysics, Applied Physics and Distributed Computing.

Royal Institute of Technology (Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan) (Sweden)

KTH is responsible for one-third of Sweden’s capacity for engineering studies and technical research at post-secondary level. Founded in 1827, it is the largest of Sweden’s universities of technology. KTH is an international institution with established research and educational exchanges all over the world. It became involved in international cooperation at an early stage, and is today running a significant number of international projects in cooperation with several universities worldwide.

Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) (South Africa)

The CSIR is one of the leading scientific and technology research, development and implementation organisations in Africa, committed to supporting innovation in South Africa in order to improve national competitiveness in the global economy. The Meraka Institute is an operating unit of the CSIR focused on ICT, research, innovation and advanced human capital development. With over 200 staff and students, Meraka is the largest group in South Africa dedicated to ICT research., with extensive national and international networks.

West and Central African Research and Education Network (WACREN) (Ghana)

WACREN was founded in 2010 and is composed of the NRENs in Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Gabon, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo and Benin. The objectives of WACREN is the promotion and establishment of interconnections between national research and education networks in West and Central Africa to form a regional research and education network, the interconnection of this network with other regional and continental networks, and the provision of services aiming at fostering collaboration between research and education institutions in the region as well as between them and peer institutions at continental and international levels.